Critical Review of Ek Villain (2014)

Today is the third day of Eid-ul-Fitr in Pakistan. I knew I would get bored so I downloaded the new movie “Ek Villain” on the first day of this Eid and I just finished watching it today.

This is my first written critical review of a movie. Why I chose this movie? There are many reasons. One being my friend liked it so much that he said he watched it about four times. But he has a bad taste in movies; I believe he has never seen a Hollywood movie. Another reason is that the lead actor Siddharth Malhotra is popular between my female cousins. And my cousin really liked it. He said it was something different, something innovative.

So this is how I review it:

Plot

The story is quite interesting. But the movie lacks entertainment. It won’t bring a smile on your face before giving you another sad moment. There was so much “rona pitna” like most other Ekta Kapoor’s Productions. There are some aspects in the movie which had similarities with other successful movies. The whole movie was based on the concept of “revenge of beloved wife”, which was used in Ghajini. There are more similarities with Ghajini which I will mention later. The antagonist (villain) in Sylvester Stallone’s movie “Cobra” was a character who found pleasure by killing women. The idea of a serial killer who kills just women is already used many times.

Direction & Screenplay

Mohit Suri directed it well. The fighting scene where Guru goes to fight his master Cesar was a really good long uncut scene with excellent direction. It reminds me of Ong Bak. Like Ghajini and 3 Idiots, Ek Villain doesn’t follow the general Three-Act structure of screenplay still I didn’t had any difficulty in joining all the threads together.

Cast

The cast wasn’t strong. Sidharth Malhotra did well. The role of a lost boy was performed well by Sidharth Malhotra, though it was a little too confused role for the protagonist. Shraddha Kapoor is not very pretty, but can cast a spell through her emotional eyes. But her acting was not up to the mark. It was missing something, “shararat” maybe. Riteish Deshmukh was not a good villain. Instead of looking cruel and ruthless, he was looking sympathetic. He did not provided the confidence and energy required by an antagonist (villain).

Soundtracks

I don’t have much to say on soundtracks as I have watched it just once. It was okay by the way.

The End

I give this movie 3 out of 5 stars.

I had many things in my mind but I had to finish it off quickly because my cousin is here, giving us a visit before going overseas for higher studies.

Leave a Reply

